Travel & Covid – where can we go right now?

Don’t know about you, but I am itching to get away! It’s natural, especially with how long we have had to stay home … but when you’re told you’re not allowed to go somewhere, the teenager me starts whispering in my ear haha!

Don’t worry, I am now at least a little more responsible. But after finding out that a destination on my bucket list has opened up for travel, I had to do some investigating!

So to start off, here’s a list of European countries and what they will and won’t allow in terms of travel. I’ll be posting other areas of the world throughout this week. Please share with others if it helps. Stay safe.

  • The European Union: As of 16 March, the EU has banned all non-essential foreign arrivals.
  • Albania: All borders are closed (with the exception of freight) to all nationals.
  • Andorra: All ski resorts are now closed and the FCO advises against all but essential travel. 
  • Armenia: The majority of foreign nationals who have travelled from or via countries with outbreaks of COVID-19 within 14 days of travel, including the UK,  are not currently allowed to enter Armenia. 
  • Azerbaijan: The Azerbaijani authorities have extended the suspension of all commercial passenger flights in to and out of Azerbaijan until at least 31st May.
  • Belgium: You will only be able to enter Belgium if you live there or if you work there. The Belgium Government has announced plans to slowly start relaxing lockdown measures. 
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina: All foreign visitors are banned from entering the country. 
  • Bulgaria: The Bulgarian Government has announced severe restrictions on international travel, forbidding entry to British nationals. 
  • Croatia: On 19 March the Croatian government announced that it would close its land borders for a period of 30 days. The Croatian government has also advised that foreign nationals who do not have a valid residence permit are not allowed to enter Croatia. Dubrovnik International Airport is now closed. 
  • Czech Republic: UK citizens without permanent or temporary residency will not be able to enter the Czech Republic, with the FCO advising against all but essential travel. The Czech Republic has started to loosen its lockdown. British Nationals and EU citizens making business trips of three days or less can enter the Czech Republic as long as they have evidence that they have tested negatively for Covid-19. 
  • Cyprus:  The government of Cyprus has banned all tourists from entering the country as of 15 March until 30 April. Cyprus is also closing all tourist accommodation from Saturday 21 March. 
  • Denmark: The Danish border will be closed to foreign nationals who do not have a ‘worthy purpose’ for entering Denmark until at least 10 May. 
  • Georgia: Domestic tourism will re-open on 15 June. From 1 July Georgia’s land and air borders should re-open in line with the principle of safe corridors and there will be a gradual resumption of flights and international tourism. 
  • Hungary: Foreign visitors will not be permitted entry into Hungary.Only Hungarian citizens and those holding a Permanent Residence Card or a Registration Certificate and Address Card will be allowed to enter the country.
  • Estonia: Only citizens of Estonia, holders of an Estonian Residency Permit or foreign citizens whose family member lives in Estonia are permitted to enter Estonia. 
  • Italy: TheFCO advises against all but essential travel to the country. You can only travel to Italy if it is an emergency. 
  • France: Only residents of France ands those who work in France will be granted access into the country. You will need a travel certificate to be granted access into the country. 
  • Latvia: Only Latvian nationals and foreign nationals who hold residence cards issued by the Latvian Office of Citizenship and Migration Affairs are authorised to enter Latvia. 
  • Lithuania: All commercial flights between Lithuania and the UK have been cancelled. 
  • Luxembourg: There are currently no scheduled passenger flights from Luxembourg Airport. 
  • Madeira and the Azores: The regional governments of Madeira and the Azores recommend against all but essential travel to and from the archipelagos until further notice. 
  • Malta: The FCO has advised against all but essential travel and visitors have been told to leave as soon as possible. 
  • Montenegro: You will not be able to enter Montenegro unless you have a permanent or temporary residence in the country. Montenegro is slowly starting to ease its lockdown restrictions. 
  • Moldova: Foreigners who do not hold Moldovan residency are currently not permitted to enter Moldova.
  • Norway: The FCO has advised against all but essential travel to the country and Norway has asked anyone who is not Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Swedish or residents of Norway to leave. 
  • Poland: Poland has closed its borders.
  • Romania: Direct flights between Romania and the UK have been suspended. 
  • Russia: On the 16th March, Russia announced that it will restrict entry into the whole country for almost all foreign citizens from 18 March until 1 May 2020. 
  • Serbia: All airports in Serbia are currently closed to international passenger flights. 
  • Spain: From 15 May, all new arrivals to Spain including nationals and residents need to self isolate for 14 days. The border is currently closed to all except citizens and those with a Spanish residency. 
  • Slovakia: Entry to Slovakia is permitted only for Slovak citizens, foreigners with proof of residency in Slovakia, and other foreign nationals under certain conditions.
  • Slovenia: Slovenia has cancelled all air traffic in and out of the country. 
  • Turkey: Passengers who are not Turkish nationals or residents of Turkey are not permitted to enter Turkey.
  • Ukraine: Foreign citizens who are not residents of Ukraine are not allowed to enter the country. 

Information correct at time of publishing. Cited from Wanderlust Magazine.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s